European Workshop on Software Defined Networks

The European workshop on Software Defined Networks took place October 25th - 26th, 2012 in Darmstadt, Germany.

The workshop home page with detailed information is at

What makes an SDN workshop “European”? Traditional strengths of European research and development have been in optical transmission and wireless, especially cellular networks. The workshop emphasizes aspects of Software Defined Networks that come up when extending SDN 'beyond Ethernet'. In this regard, “European” does not mean that we restrict to a geographic scope, we welcome contribution and participation from all over the world.

One goal of the workshop was to bring together industry and academia on the topics of SDN, in particular the workshop will feature an “industry forum”, i.e. a session with presentations of key industrial players (manufacturers, telecom operators, ...).

A special session included presentation and discussion of the highest ranked proposals to the 2nd open call of the OFELIA project.

The workshop proceedings are published in IEEE Xplore.


Call for papers

Deadline: June 15th, 2012

Format: up to 6 pages, double column 10pt font

Acceptance notification: July 25th, 2012

Camera ready: September 5th, 2012

For the full CfP, please goto


Workshop Chair

Hagen Woesner, EICT, Berlin, Germany


Technical Program Committee Co-Chairs

Andreas Gladisch, Deutsche Telekom Innovation Labs, Berlin, Germany

Juergen Quittek, NEC, Heidelberg, Germany

Stefano Salsano, Univ. Tor Vergata, Roma, Italy

Elio Salvadori, CREATE-NET, Trento, Italy


Technical Program Committee

(in progress... other invitations have been sent)

Achim Autenrieth, ADVA, Germany

Siamak Azodolmolky, Univ. of Essex, UK

Dean Bogdanovic, Juniper Networks

Marco Canini, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

Ramon Casellas, CTTC, Barcelona, Spain

Didier Colle, IBBT - Ghent University, Belgium

Francesco De Pellegrini, CREATE-NET, Trento, Italy

Thomas Dietz, NEC, Germany

Eduardo Jacob, Basque Country University, Bilbao, Spain

Wolfgang John, Ericsson Sweden

Pawel Kaczmarek, ADVA, Poland

Holger Karl, Univ. Paderborn, Germany

Wolfgang Kellerer, DOCOMO Europe, Munich, Germany

Marc Koerner, TUB, Berlin, Germany

Teemu Koponen, Nicira Networks

Andreas Köpsel, EICT, Berlin, Germany

Alessandro Leonardi, AGT, Germany

Diego R. Lopez, Telefonica

Antonio Manzalini, Telecom Italia

Ruben Merz, Telekom Innovation Laboratories & TU Berlin, Germany

Giacomo Morabito, Univ. of Catania / CNIT, Catania, Italy

Reza Nejabati, Univ. of Essex, UK

Bernhard Plattner, ETH, Zurich, Switzerland

Robert Raszuk, NTT MCL

Roberto Riggio, CREATE-NET, Trento, Italy

Charalampos Rotsos, University of Cambridge, UK

Rob Sherwood, Big Switch Networks

Pontus Skoldström, ACREO, Sweden

Marc Sune, i2CAT, Barcelona, Spain, TBC

Vincenzo Suraci, Univ. La Sapienza, Roma, Italy

Attila Takacs, Ericsson Hungary

Mallik Tatipamula, Ericsson

Steve Uhlig, Queen Mary University of London, UK

Luca Veltri, Univ. of Parma / CNIT, Parma, Italy

Hagen Woesner, EICT, Berlin, Germany